Lion Pride Logo

Welcome to "Noteworthy News" where you can learn about special people and important news concerning Lockwood Schools. Over the years many special people and groups have been recognized for their achievements. Read about past news-makers at the links to the right.

2013 Lockwood Spelling Bee Winners

Spelling Bee WinnersHere are the winners of the 2013 Lockwood Spelling Bee:

1st Place: Addy Cooper
2nd Place: Issiah Kroll
3rd Place: Quinn Gerber
4th Place Runner-up: Michael Marino

Eighth grader, Adeline Cooper, took first place in the Lockwood Spelling Bee for the second time in her school career. Addy won as both a 6th grader and an 8th grader. She also took third as a 7th grader! WOW! What a track record! Addy won the Lockwood Bee in the seventh round by correctly spelling the word “seismograph.” Issiah Kroll took second place, and Quinn Gerber captured third. Runner-up this year was Michael Marino. These amazing spellers will compete at the Yellowstone County Bee at MSU-B on March 9th. We’d like to extend a HUGE congratulations to these super spellers! Way to go! (posted 02/2013)


Lockwood 8th Grader Places 3rd

Congratulations goes out to Jesse Bone, an 8th grader, who received 3rd place in the VFW writing contest this year! Jesse’s class competed with 9 other middle schools and was told the competition was tough this year. Lockwood School is proud of him. Jesse won $50 and was a very happy young man! The VFW did a nice job of presenting this to Jesse. Thanks to all who have helped him become the writer he is today! Way to go Jesse! (posted 01/2013)


Lockwood Board Wins 23rd Consecutive Golden Gavel Award!

The Golden Gavel Award is bestowed on those school districts whose entire board became "Certified" in the same twelve month period. This is the 23rd consecutive award for the Lockwood School Board of Trustees and is by far the most in the state of Montana. The members will receive their award at the Montana School Board Association meeting on Thursday, October 18, 2012.

Thanks you to the 2011-12 board members for representing our school in such a positive way! Those members included: Tim Sather, Tamara Spillum, Becky Malenowsky, Sue Vinton, Caree Bernhart, Don Reed, Jason Hamrick. (posted 10/2012)

Star Top
All external links are intended for educational purposes only. The Lockwood School District is not responsible
for questionable or controversial content that may be found through external links on this site.